Robert Hornbek

Game Development & Exploration

Warhammer 40,000: Dark Millennium Online

Posted by rHornbek on June 17, 2010

If you know me then it wont come as a surprise that I am thrilled that this game was announce.  Aside from wanting a science fiction MMO that wasn’t EVE I had always imagined one that took place in the Warhammer 40k universe.  That aside lets touch on a few of the things we see in the video.

So at first glance, like most highly anticipated games, it looks pretty cool!  It appears that what we are seeing is ingame graphics and possible encounters, but very little is actually being explained about gameplay.  I managed to pull a screen cap from a portion of the game that I feel says quite a bit about the gameplay.  For now of course.

If unfamiliar with the 40k universe one could confuse this for World of StarCraft!

The first thing I notice are the 3rd person shooter elements, which feel like a solid move.  Then I discover how little they deviated from World of WarCraft’s HUD layout.  I guess it has become the standard since its success, but there are a lot of improvements that could be made.  Hopefully they take a few queues from popular mods.

I plan on keeping an eye on this game.  I am trying not to get my hopes up too much, but someone is bound to make a decent MMO eventually.  These are some of the concerns I have for the game…

  • Faction Options: I am a huge fan of the Tyranids, but it is safe to assume they will not be a playable race.  I am not suggesting they could never be playable, but rather feel they will be passed over by more easily implemented factions.
  • Power By Numbers: one aspect of the Warhammer table top games that greatly differentiated the factions were the numbers of units each army contained at any one time.  While Space Marine squads consisted of 5 or 6 marines, Ork units could have as many as 8 or 12.  This said, single character battles would feel inappropriate.
  • Character Progression: while there are a fair number of weapons and utilities you can give individual characters in the table top game it does not add up nearly to the amount of items present in most MMOs.  Of course if they can avoid the classic item grind I would be happy.

I look forward to learning more about this game in the months to come!

One Response to “Warhammer 40,000: Dark Millennium Online”

  1. Great work! That is the type of information that should be shared across the internet.
    Shame on Google for now not positioning this submit upper!
    Come on over and consult with my website . Thank
    you =)

Leave a Reply

 
