Robert Hornbek

Game Development & Exploration

Dev Scratch: Character Movement in a Platform Game

Posted by rHornbek on October 31, 2012

I have been known to write list, doodle images, and jot down various concepts on tiny pieces of paper as thought appear.  This habit has formed and developed over time due to two key factors;

The first reason is my unpredictable memory, where I will often forget something I just read, hear, said, or what I did the for my birthday the day before.  Maybe my mind is just being picky?

Probably the most important reason however, is that the moment you get an idea out of your head it makes room for others!  I have discovered this to be true from experience, and encourage everyone to record thoughts that they cannot immediately address.  Believe me when I say, it is not worth holding onto an idea for even a couple days, when you can simply write it down.  This is not to say you should forget the idea, but simply keep a record so you can clear your mind.  This will allow you to advance the idea, or complete easier tasks sooner.

The first dev scratch I would like to share is both a doodle and a list.  What I wanted to create was a list of actions a character could perform to navigate a 2D platform game.  The goals is to create controls that allow for quick fluid motion around each of the maps.  What isn’t represented here is how I also wanted to integrate combat into the movement, much like in Sonic the Hedgehog.  And while I want to allow for speed runs, I did not want the emphasis of the platforming to be about speed but rather fluidity.

This idea has gone to the back burner, but at least I have it noted so I can come back to it later.

Leave a Reply

 
